Goodwin Popular Culture Award

This annual award is given for the best 2,000-5,000 word undergraduate submission on popular culture. Topics may include (but are not limited to) popular music, TV, film, sports, fashion, animation, comics, politics or game.  All submissions should have been developed for class credit; and students should be of junior or senior standing. Submissions may take other forms than written text (for example, video, audio, or photo essays).  Annual award information is emailed to the various Arts & Sciences departments each year.

Grizzly Film and Arts Festival

Grizzly Film and Arts Festival»

Grizzly Film Festival is the premier student film festival of UC Berkeley, open to all undergraduate students in the bay area.

Hosted annually in Berkeley, the festival features a screening of the winning films and a display of art and music from the community, followed by a Q&A with the filmmakers. Our judging panel is comprised of judges from prominent Bay Area film organizations as well as local filmmakers.

International Ocean Film Festival

Filmmakers around the world encouraged to submit works that inspire people to appreciate and care for the ocean by revealing its wonders through independent films.

Submissions may include films of all genres – documentaries, narratives, shorts, and animation films of all lengths. Subjects may focus on all oceanographic themes including but not limited to: ocean exploration, wildlife, environmental, conservation, oceanography, seafaring adventures, maritime issues, ocean sports and coastal cultures.

For submission details, visit

The Cardinal Foley Award in Social Communications

Begun in 2016 with the 50th celebration of the World Day of Social Communications, and sponsored by Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary (in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia), the award focuses on the creative genius of young adults working with social media, particularly in the realm of videography. The award is conferred during the Cardinal Foley Symposium, which takes place each year during the last week in May.

 For information click here.

Script Pipeline

Pipeline Screenwriting and TV Writing competitions continue a long tradition of discovering up-and-coming talent and connecting them with top producers, agencies, and managers across studio and independent markets. This process has proven enormously successful, with numerous screenwriting contest alumni finding elite representation and gaining crucial introductions to otherwise impossible-to-reach industry execs.

Film School Shorts

Film School Shorts is looking for the next great student film! Film School Shorts is a nationally distributed series for public television that airs in top markets, including New York City, Los Angeles and Chicago. Filmmakers from the first three seasons include Ana Lily Amirpour (A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night), Destin Cretton (Short Term 12) and Sarah-Violet Bliss (Fort Tilden).  Find out more about Film School Shorts by following them on Facebook and Twitter, and watch featured short films on YouTube and PBS Video. For more information and application forms, visit