Center for Research, Artistic, and Scholarly Excellence

 

Inside CRASE

 

ANNOUNCEMENTS

 

Provost Office Call for Faculty Contributions

Research Justice: Building a Just and Sustainable World

Higher education’s racial reckoning, alongside the multiple crises of the moment, requires universities to re-examine the assumption that scholarly research is a “common good”.  Who really benefits from research funding? Who determines research agendas, dissemination and methodology, and who is excluded from these decisions? How does research impact BiPOC communities and other marginalized communities that are so often the object of the inquiry? And what is the environmental impact of all of this research activity? 

Research Justice: Building a Just and Sustainable World proposes an institutional approach to research that centers justice. Upending the traditional top down role of the scholar as expert, research justice positions faculty as allies walking alongside impacted communities who are experts on their own lives and contexts. Starting from a place of deep cultural humility, the researchers in this publication leverage research as a tool in the service of marginalized communities and work collaboratively, in the words of St Ignatius of Loyola, to set the world on fire.

The Office of the Provost invites faculty and librarians to be featured in a collection that will highlight research that does justice. This short publication will be disseminated to university presidents, provosts and chief research officers nationwide to raise awareness about the many powerful and impactful research projects conducted by USF faculty and librarians in partnership with local and global communities. Indigenous researchers have been at the forefront of generating decolonial methodologies and we particularly welcome projects focused on indigenizing scholarly research and/or engaging indigenous communities.

We invite faculty and nominees to submit a 400 - 500 word synopsis of their research project, a brief discussion of the participatory methodology of the research, description of any student researcher involvement, a brief bio, and a photo (jpg), and the full citation information for any relevant published work using this form by January 16, 2022.

 

CRASE

Our mission at the Center for Research, Artistic and Scholarly Excellence (CRASE) at the University of San Francisco is to support, promote, and celebrate faculty research, artistic, and scholarly excellence through interdisciplinary and community connections, innovative approaches, social impact, and active dissemination.

Our goals are:

  • CONNECT: To connect and collectivize faculty to foster meaningful collaborations and interdisciplinary and holistic perspectives.
  • PRODUCTIVITY: To provide practical, active experiences that inspire productivity, innovative methods, creativity, and new ways of thinking.
  • IMPACT: To leverage faculty strengths and expertise to promote social impact, public debate, and discussion. 
  • SUPPORT: To link faculty to available resources on campus, online, in the community, and through professional organizations.
  • VISIBILITY: To increase the visibility, prominence, and dissemination of faculty research, artistic, and scholarly works.

The center is co-directed by professors Annette Regan (School of Nursing and Health Professions) and Tanu Sankalia (College of Arts and Sciences), and has an advisory board of faculty members from across all schools and colleges at USF. CRASE organizes a number of events and workshops throughout the year to support and promote faculty research and creative work.

 

Co-Directors 

Annette Regan
akregan@usfca.edu

Tanu Sankalia
tssankalia@usfca.edu

 

Program Assistant - CRASE and CTE

Nischa Jaster
njaster@usfca.edu 

 

Advisory Board

Lara Bazelon
lbazelon@usfca.edu

Deborah Benrubi
benrubi@usfca.edu

Zifei Chen
zchen96@usfca.ed

Hsiu-Lan Cheng
hcheng13@usfca.edu

Marie-Claude Couture
mcouture@usfca.edu

Lisa De La Rue
ldelarue@usfca.edu

Tatiana Fedyk
tfedyk@usfca.edu

Erin Grinshteyn
egrinshteyn@usfca.edu 

June Lee
jlee175@usfca.edu

Catherine Lushek
chlusheck@usfca.edu

Omar Miranda
ofmiranda@usfca.edu

Tanu Sankalia
tssankalia@usfca.edu

James Wilson
jdwilson4@usfca.edu