Who We Are

The University of San Francisco’s Food Pantry was established in the fall 2018 semester and is available to all undergraduate and graduate students enrolled at the University. The pantry is meant to provide an intermediate solution for students who are experiencing food insecurity. Being food insecure means having limited or uncertain access to a sufficient quantity of food (USDA, 2011).

*All Stats here taken from the 2018 GAO Report & 2018 Hunger on Campus Report

30% of college students are food insecure 75% of food insecure students receive financial aid
56% of food insecure students are working 43% of food insecure students have a meal plan

 

USF Food Pantry Advisory Committee

This committee is comprised of staff, faculty, and students from across campus committed to addressing student basic needs insecurity. As a committee, they are charged with the planning, implementation, and assessment of the campus food pantry work.

Please email deanofstudents@usfca.edu or call (415) 422-4099 if you have any questions about the pantry program.

Meet the Food Pantry Advisory Committee

Shawn Calhoun

Shawn Calhoun, Ed.D.
Associate Dean
Glesson Library
calhouns@usfca.edu

headshot of crystal

Crystal Chun Wong
Resident District Manager
Bon Appetit at USF
crystal.chunwong@cafebonappetit.com

Mauricio Diaz de Leon

Mauricio Diaz de Leon
Assistant Director of Immersions, Justice, and Outreach
University Ministry
mdiazdeleon@usfca.edu

Shannon Gary

Shannon Gary, Ed.D.
Associate Vice President of Student Life, Dean of Students
Office of the Dean of Students
sgary@usfca.edu

Nick Heng

Nick Heng
Assistant Director of Student Government
Student Leadership and Engagement
nsheng@usfca.edu

picture of anna

Anna Jaeger
CRM Technical Manager
asjaeger@usfca.edu

no picture

Mary Jane Kober
Financial Aid Assistant

picture of sarah M.

Sarah McCall
Graduate Student Intern

no picture

Garrett O'Doherty
Director
Events Management, Guest & Food Services
godoherty@usfca.edu

picture of leo mccarthy staff member

Star Plaxton-Moore
Director of Community Engaged Learning
Leo McCarthy Center
smoore3@usfca.edu

Andrea Rocha

Andrea P. Rocha, M.Ed.
Assistant Director of Off Campus Student Services
Student Housing and Residential Education (SHaRE)
rochaa@usfca.edu

picture of DOS staff

Kahanu Salavea
Program Assistant
Office of the Dean of Students
wksalavea@usfca.edu

picture of David Silver

David Silver
Associate Professor
Environmental Studies and Urban Agriculture
dmsilver@usfca.edu