Awards and Recognitions

Student Awards

Shaya Kara ’17 – Father John P. Schlegel, S.J., Award

Neema Jyothiprakash '14 and Eric Schroer '14 - Sarlo Scholar for the USF Global Service-Learning program, 2013.
Only 15 USF students are chosen each year to participate in this fully-funded program. Neema and Eric will each live with a host family and intern at grassroots organizations addressing one or more of the following issues: education, health care, women’s rights, environmental preservation, community empowerment, and human rights. Neema will be part of the India delegation, and Eric will be part of the Bolivia delegation.

Faculty Awards


Prof. Rebecca Mason - Advisor of the Year award from the USF Student Association.

Prof. David Kim – USF College of Arts & Sciences Collective Achievement Award with Critical Diversity Studies, 2017; Fleishhacker Chair, 2017-2018

Prof. Ronald Sundstrom - USF College of Arts & Sciences Faculty Service Award, 2017; USF College of Arts & Sciences Collective Achievement Award with Critical Diversity Studies


Prof. Tom Cavanaugh - National Endowment for the Humanities Enduring Questions National Grant
This prestigious national grant recognizes Prof. Cavanaugh, for his new innovative course "What is Wisdom."

Prof. Matthew Gaudet - Distinguished Adjunct Teaching Award


Prof. Quayshawn Spencer - National Science Foundation Grant Award
Prof. Spencer has been awarded a $21,514 standard grant from NSF (Award Number: 1331110) for his proposal, Workshop: An Interdisciplinary Conference on the Nature and Reality of Race bringing together Philosophical and Biomedical Perspectives. The grant will help fund a conference at USF.

Prof. Manuel Vargas - NEH Chair at the University of San Francisco, 2013-14
Prof. Vargas will completion a book that makes a comprehensive case for the value and significance of Latin American philosophy. The aspiration is to ensure that newcomers will walk away with a sense of what is valuable about the field, while providing the small community of Anglophone specialists with sufficient grist to merit their engagement.


Prof. Quayshawn Spencer - Ford Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship, 2012-13
Prof. Spencer's prestigious fellowship will support his research into philosophy, genetics, and racial realism.

Prof. David Stump - Visiting Fellow at the University of Pittsburgh Center for the Philosophy of Science, 2012
Prof. Stump will spend the fall at work on the Philosophy of logic, science, and mathematics in Henri Poincaré and contemporary pragmatist philosophies of science.

Prof. Thomas Cavanaugh - Dean's Scholar Award
The College of Arts & Sciences recognizes Thomas Cavanaugh for his work on the ethics of double-effect. In his book, "Double-Effect Reasoning: Doing Good and Avoiding Evil," (Oxford: Clarendon Press) he presents the first detailed history of double-effect while articulating and defending new criteria for assessing hard moral cases found, for example, in medical, legal and military fora. While prompting consideration by prominent philosophers, his book has garnered praise and numerous reviews in journals such as Mind and The Philosophical Quarterly.

Prof. Manuel Vargas - Distinguished Research Award
The Committee Distinguished Research Award selected Professor Vargas for his major contributions to scholarship in the philosophy of action and agency, addressing the topics of moral responsibility and free will, as well as his research in Latin American philosophy and the philosophy of law.

Prof. Michael Torre - appointed President of American Jacques Maritain Association, 2012-15

Prof. Jeffrey Paris - College of Arts & Sciences Full-Time Faculty Service Award