Selection Criteria and Committee

Applications will be selected based on the following criteria:

  • Research proposal quality and alignment with the Initiative‚Äôs goals and objectives;

  • Contribution to, and potential impact on, interdisciplinary fields related to violence and/or nonviolence studies;

  • Contribution to the community-engaged and interfaith goals of the Initiative, to the partnering organization(s), and to the larger USF community;

  • Demonstrated scholarly expertise in areas related to violence or nonviolence studies, and/or relevant teaching and service experience related to nonviolence in theory and practice, nonviolent community engagement, or violence prevention.

Applicants who submit applications in the first round will be informed by the selection committee by January 1, 2022. At that time, we will inform all faculty whether or not we will call for a second round of applications; in that event, applications will be due February 1, 2022.

Steering Committee

Eligible applications will be reviewed by the USF Interfaith Nonviolence Initiative Steering Committee:

  • Pamela Balls Organista, Senior Vice Provost for Equity, Inclusion, and Faculty Excellence and Professor of Psychology

  • Erin Brigham, Executive Director of the Joan and Ralph Lane Center for Catholic Social Thought and the Ignatian Tradition

  • Derick Brown, Senior Director of the Leo T. McCarthy Center for Public Service and the Common Good at the University of San Francisco

  • Joshua Gamson, Associate Dean of Social Sciences and Professor of Sociology

  • Jonathan D. Greenberg, Director of the Institute for Nonviolence and Social Justice

  • Aaron Hahn Tapper, Mae and Benjamin Swig Professor in Jewish Studies and Director of the Swig Program in Jewish Studies and Social Justice

  • Aysha Hidayatullah, Associate Professor of Islamic Studies in the Department of Theology and Religious Studies