Steering Committee

The Reaffirmation of WSCUC Accreditation Steering Committee

Purpose: USF is up for reaffirmation of WSCUC accreditation starting spring 2018. The planning process is underway. The reaffirmation process typically lasts at least two years and begins with a self-study where institutions review their compliance with the 2013 Standards of Accreditation and applicable federal regulations. Institutions then demonstrate that compliance in an Institutional Report. The Steering Committee is asked to lead the self-study, guide any work necessary to improve compliance, and draft the Institutional Report.

Charge: The Steering Committee will:

  1. Steer USF self-study
  2. Complete review under the WSCUC Standards
  3. Create task list to improve compliance with criteria for accreditation, with timeline for completion
  4. Oversee and monitor completion of tasks to improve compliance with criteria for accreditation
  5. Write the 8 sections of the Report

: An effective self-study requires broad engagement of the institutional community. Therefore, the Self-study Steering Committee represents different stakeholders, including faculty, staff, and administration. In the course of the self-study, the steering committee will also involve students, alumni, community partners, and other stakeholders as appropriate. The current members of the Steering Committee are:

Deborah Panter
Deborah Panter, JD (Chair)
Director of Educational Effectiveness and Assessment
Office of the Provost

Shawn Calhoun
Shawn P. Calhoun, Ed.D.
Associate Dean
Gleeson Library

Michael J. Harrington

Associate Vice Provost Planning and Budget,
Center for Institutional Planning and Effectiveness (CIPE)

Charlene Lobo Soriano, Ed.D.
Associate Dean
Student Academic ServicesĀ for Branch Campuses

Rhonda V. Magee, JD

School of Law

Kevin A. McLemore, Ph.D.
Assistant Director of Assessment
Office of the Provost

Mark D. Meritt, Ph.D.

Professor of Rhetoric and Language
College of Arts and Sciences

Mathew Mitchell
Mathew T. Mitchell, Ph.D.

School of Education

Peggy Takahashi
Peggy K. Takahashi, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs
School of Management

Alan Ziajka

Alan L. Ziajka, Ph.D.
Associate Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and University Historian
Office of the Provost

Scott Ziehm, DNP

Associate Dean for Pre-Licensure Programs and Accreditation
School of Nursing and Health Professions