Lambda Pi Eta

Lambda Pi Eta is the official Communication Studies honor society of the National Communication Association (NCA). As a member of the Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS), Lambda Pi Eta has over 400 active chapters at four-year colleges and universities worldwide. The Kappa Iota Chapter of Lambda Pi Eta at the University of San Francisco began in 1994.

Membership Requirements

Communication Studies majors are invited to apply for membership in Lambda Pi Eta during the spring semester. Requirements for membership are:

  • The completion of 60 units (this means that students usually can apply for membership at the end of their sophomore year)
  • The successful completion of at least three COMS courses for 12 units minimum
  • A cumulative GPA of 3.0
  • A major GPA of 3.25
  • No grade lower than a B- in any COMS course

In addition to the above requirements, students are not eligible for membership during their final semester of study.

Chapter Events and Activities

Our Kappa Iota Chapter of Lambda Pi Eta hosts several academic, social, community service, and professional events every semester, which are open to all COMS majors, including:

  • Pizza with the Profs
  • Career Night
  • Pie Day Fundraiser - featured in newsletter »
  • Pizza with the Pros
  • Graduate School Information Session
  • And more!

Mentorship Program

Lambda Pi Eta members are available to serve as mentors to any new COMS major. Your Lambda Pi Eta mentor can be available to answer questions that you have about the COMS major, USF, and San Francisco and invite you to department events! If you are interested in meeting a Lambda Pi Eta mentor, please contact Professor Doohan at

Lambda Keynote Speakers/Honorary Members

Each year, we invite an alum from our department to address our graduating seniors as the Keynote Speaker at our Communication Studies Graduation Celebration. The following alums have served as Keynote Speakers:

  • 2019 Heather Arora, Class of 2007* 
  • 2018 Anna Kessel, Class of 2010 
  • 2017 (Fall) Jillian Fish, Class of 2007 *
  • 2017 Naudia Queen-Prengel, Class of 2014 *
  • 2016 (Fall): An Mai, Class of 2012
  • 2016: Jamie Foster, Class of 2008 *
  • 2015: Mariella Brodersen, Class of 2007
  • 2014: Cait Steiner, Class of 2013
  • 2013: Claire Bentley, Class of 2010
  • 2012: Katie Caughman, Class of 2009
  • 2011: Amanda Anderson, Class of 2007
  • 2010: Eric Flemming, Class of 2009
  • 2009: Catherine Misfud, Class of 2001 *
  • 2008: Katherine Madariaga, Class of 2001 *
  • 2007: Ceci De La Montanya, Class of 2003 *
  • 2006: Samantha Tran, Class of 1999 *

* Honorary Members