Core Area Committees

Core Area Committees discuss proposed course designations via email and, when necessary, meet as a group. Faculty seeking a core designation(s) for a course must submit a proposal. Learn more about the process on our Courses page.

USF Core Breadth Policy

Students may receive their only exposure to an area of academic study that is not in their major through the university CORE. Because of this, CORE courses should generally be introductory survey courses that provide an introduction to an academic discipline, or a broad area of an academic discipline, rather than specialized courses that examine a specific area in more depth. The exception to this breadth requirement is First Year Seminars/Transfer Student Seminars. 

USF Core Turf Policy

The expectation is that Core area classes are taught by faculty with training, expertise, and affiliation in the associated disciplines of the Core areas. Exceptions must be approved by appropriate department chair.

Core Assessment

For information on the five-year Core Assessment process, please see our Core Assessment page

Members: Fall 2021 - Spring 2022

Area A: Foundations of Communication

  • Chair, Rhetoric and Language: Cathy Gabor
  • Public Speaking Director: Michelle LaVigne
  • Composition Director: Jonathan Hunt
  • SOM: Kimberly Rae Connor

Area B: Math and Sciences

  • Chair, Biology: James Sikes
  • Chemistry: Giovanni Meloni
  • Computer Science: Alark Joshi
  • Environmental Science: Calla Schmidt
  • Kinesiology: Karen Francis & Shannon Siegel
  • Mathematics: Emille Lawrence
  • Physics: Milka Nikolic

Area C: Humanities

  • Chair, English: Bruce Snider
  • History: Taymiya Zaman
  • Languages, Literatures, & Cultures: Zhiqiang Li

Area D: Philosophy and Theology

  • Chair, Theology & Religious Studies: Mark Miller
  • Philosophy: Jacqueline Taylor
  • SOM: Marco Tavanti

Area E: Social Sciences

  • Chair, Sociology: Kimberly Richman
  • Communication Studies: Brandi Lawless
  • Economics: Michael Jonas & Mario Muzzi
  • Environmental Studies: David Silver
  • International Studies: Brian Dowd-Uribe
  • Media Studies: Inna Arzumanova
  • Politics: Keally McBride
  • Psychology: Saera Khan & Ben Levy

Area F: Visual and Performing Arts

  • Chair, Performing Arts and Social Justice: Megan Nicely
  • Art + Architecture: Eric Hongisto