Paid Family Leave

To be eligible for Paid Family Leave, medical certification is required. The plan pays approximately 60% of your current earnings up to a maximum of $1,357 per week for 2021. There is no waiting period for PFL benefits.  Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits are payable for up to 8 weeks in a 12-month period and may be taken intermittently. When taking Paid Family Leave for the purpose of baby bonding, only Vacation Hours can be used to supplement your pay.  Paid Family Leave for the purpose of baby bonding must be taken in two-week increments; shorter increments will be allowed on two occasions.

Employees, upon certification, may use PFL benefits to:

  • Care for an eligible family member (Child, Grandchild, Grandparent, Parent, Parent-In-Law, Sibling, Spouse, or Registered Domestic Partner);
  • Bond with a new child of the employee or the employee’s spouse/RDP/GF LDA; or
  • Bond with a child in connection with adoption or foster care of the child of the employee or the employee’s spouse/RDP/GF LDA.
  • Assist with a family member’s military deployment to a foreign country. Deployment is defined as covered active duty, a call or notice of impending covered active duty, or a rest and recuperation leave from covered active duty.

Requesting Paid Family Leave

After notifying your supervisor of your leave of absence request, you can report the request to Tristar at 1-844-702-2352 or http://usf.ess-absencetracker.com/.

San Francisco Paid Parental Leave Ordinance

The San Francisco Paid Parental Leave Ordinance (PPLO) provides partial wage replacement to employees taking up to 8 weeks of leave to bond with a new child under the California Paid Family Leave (CA PFL). PPLO provides eligible employees with supplemental compensation equal to the difference between the employee’s California Paid Family Leave benefit and the employee’s normal gross weekly wages such that the employee receives 100% of their weekly salary, subject to a weekly maximum benefit amount.

To qualify for PPLO, an employee must, among other requirements, work in San Francisco at least 40% of the time and have commenced employment with the University at least 180 days prior to the start of the leave period. In addition, employees must agree in writing to reimburse the University if they voluntarily separate from employment within 90 days of the end of their leave period.