Office of the Provost Faculty and Staff Awards


Help nominate USF's experienced and emerging leaders for the following Faculty and Staff Awards.

Nominations are due by 5 p.m. on Monday, March 2, 2020 unless noted otherwise.


The Diversity and Inclusion Leadership award given by the Office of Diversity Engagement and Community Outreach recognizes and honors a USF faculty or staff member who has made exceptional contributions to enhancing and supporting diversity and inclusion within the USF community. 

Diversity and Inclusion Nomination Form


The Educational Effectiveness Award (EEA) recognizes excellence in assessment practices at the University of San Francisco. The recognized assessment work should show evidence of student learning, use of student learning evidence, and help the university, or any part of the university or community, achieve its learning outcomes, goals, or mission. Exemplary assessment work should also support a culture of assessment at USF, and include a plan for closing the loop.

Educational Effectiveness Nomination Form


The Sarlo Prize recognizes excellence in teaching based upon the moral values that lie at the foundation of USF's identity. The awardee shall be a proven, effective full-time faculty member who through his/her teaching exemplifies the ethical principles which inform the University's Vision, Mission and Values.

Sarlo Prize Nomination Instructions


The Ignatian Service Award recognizes an exceptional commitment to the service of students, the University, and the community at large, in light of the religious and moral legacy of St. Ignatius. The awardee shall be a full-time faculty member who has demonstrated an ongoing and creative commitment to the realization of this legacy through his/her actions and accomplishments.

Ignatian Service Nomination Instructions

COMMUNITY ENGAGED LEARNING FACULTY AWARD (formerly Faculty Service Learning Award)

The Community Engaged Learning Faculty Award recognizes the work of full-time faculty in developing service-learning opportunities for USF students. The awardee shall be a full-time faculty member who has demonstrated a commitment to service-learning through the integration of service-learning into the curriculum; innovation in employing a reflective teaching methodology to connect community and public service experience with the academic study; and demonstration of leadership that promotes service-learning on campus. 

Community Engaged Learning Nomination Instructions


The Mentor of the Year Award was created by the Provost Council in order to recognize a faculty member and/or a staff person who furthers the Vision, Mission and Values of the University through her/his demonstrated commitment to and excellence in advising and mentoring our graduate and/or undergraduate students. The award recognizes individuals who help our students (1) identify their academic goals; (2) establish relationships between their curricular and co-curricular activities; (3) develop the expertise, skills and values that support academic and personal achievement; and, (4) discern how their USF experience will assist them in forming a more humane and just world. 

Mentor of the Year Nomination Instructions


The Distinguished Research Award is given jointly by the USF Faculty Association and the University to a full-time faculty member whose recent research and scholarship have made an outstanding contribution to his or her academic discipline. 

Distinguished Research Nomination Instructions


The Distinguished Teaching Award, bestowed jointly by the USF Faculty Association and the University, is given to a full-time faculty member for extraordinary dedication to teaching and students, and for innovative and gifted approaches to teaching and the classroom. 

Distinguished Teaching Nomination Instructions


The University of San Francisco is excited to announce that the Call for Nominations for the 2019-2020 Outstanding Professor Beyond the Hilltop Award is now open!

The award honors teaching excellence at the University's campuses beyond the Hilltop, as well as in courses that are online or hybrid. It includes a purse ($1,000) sponsored by the Provost. Awardees are additional campus, online, or hybrid instructors who demonstrate their dedication and passion for teaching through course development, pedagogical innovation, effective instruction, and student mentoring.

Eligible faculty must have taught or currently primarily teach at one or more of the USF additional campuses or sites in Orange County, Pleasanton, Sacramento, Oakland, Cupertino, or Santa Rosa during the 2019-2020 academic year (fall 2019, intersession 2020, and spring 2020). Faculty are also eligible if they primarily taught online or hybrid courses in any degree program at the University. 

Students, faculty, and staff are encouraged to submit applications for the Outstanding Professor Beyond the Hilltop Award. Student nominations carry a great deal of weight based on substantive and specific examples supporting the various criteria indicated on the nomination form.

Outstanding Professor Beyond the Hilltop Nomination Form

Nomination Deadline: March 16, 2020
For nomination information (due March 16, 2020) please contact Linda Wong, Assistant Director of Center for Institutional Planning and Effectiveness, at


The Arthur I. Karshmer Award for Distinguished Service to Disability Issues recognizes a faculty member or staff member who has demonstrated distinguished service to disability services or providing equal access to students with disabilities. For nomination information, please contact committee chair Bryan Whaley (College of Arts & Sciences) by email


Please submit a letter of nomination, no longer than three pages in length, which includes the following information:

  • The nominee's name, department, and college (self nominations will be accepted);
  • Why the nominee is deserving of the award in light of the specific award criteria; and
  • The name(s) and contact information of the nominator(s)

Note: An individual faculty may be nominated for more than one award, but a distinct letter is required for each award nomination.

For the Sarlo Prize, the Ignatian Service Award, and the Community Engaged Learning Faculty Award, a selection committee made up of the academic deans will review all nominations and submit its recommendations to the President.

For the Mentor of the Year Award(s) and the Educational Effectiveness Award, a selection committee made up of the members of the Provost's Council will review all nominations and submit its recommendations to the President.

Submit letters of nomination via email to Tina Tsan at, with FACULTY AWARD NOMINATION in the subject line.

All nominations must be received by 5 p.m. on Monday, March 2, 2020.

The awards will be presented at the 44th Annual USF Service and Merit Awards Ceremony on Thursday, April 30, 2020, at 3:30 p.m. in the McLaren Complex.

If you have any questions please contact Tina Tsan, Assistant to the Provost, at or at 415.422.6136.