Tutoring Programs

Tutoring Programs

  • Conversation Tutoring Program
    All lower-division language students are required to attend a group session outside of class for one hour a week for ten weeks. This is not simply a conversation hour; it is a unique opportunity for students to speak the language with more frequency and less anxiety than in a traditional classroom setting.
  • Peer Tutoring Program
    Peer Tutors are available at the Learning Center for students who need extra one-on-one help in addition to the help they will receive during instructor office hours. Peer Tutors can also assist students in improving study skills. Students wishing to take advantage of this program should visit the Learning Center website or contact their instructors immediately for more information.
  • Student Disability Services
    Specialized tutors are available for students with learning disabilities enrolled in French and Spanish courses at USF. If you have, or suspect you have, a disability that may require an accommodation, you are encouraged to contact both your instructor and either Student Disability Services or the Disability Related Services office at (415) 422-2613 as early as possible in the semester.

Schedule a Peer Tutoring Appointment

  1. From your myUSF Dashboard, select 'Tutoring' from the FavApps drop-down menu. You can also go to myusf.force.com for immediate access.
  2. Click on 'Book an Appointment.'
  3. Select 'Learning, Writing, and Speaking Centers.'
  4. Select 'Subject tutoring.'
  5. Follow the scheduling options to book an appointment.

Questions? Please call 415-422-6713 or stop by Gleeson Library - Lower Level.

Interested in Tutoring for MCL?

  • Conversation Tutoring Program
    Conversation tutorial positions are available for native or advanced American Sign Language (ASL), Arabic, Chinese, Filipino, French, German, Hebrew, Japanese, Portuguese, and Spanish speakers. Conversation tutors lead weekly conversation sessions with small groups of language students and are responsible for creating in-class conversational activities in accordance with the instructor’s guidelines. Please note: You are not required to have taken a language class at USF in order to be eligible for this position.
  • Peer Tutoring Program
    Peer tutorial positions are available for American Sign Language (ASL), Arabic, Chinese, Filipino, French, German, Ancient Greek, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Portuguese, and Spanish speakers. Peer tutors assist students one-on-one with various aspects of foreign language courses. Please note: All eligible applicants must have already successfully completed the course they wish to tutor at USF and must have a recommendation from that language instructor.

How to Apply

Complete these forms:

Send both forms to the instructor of your language, listed below.

  • Arabic: Yusuf Mullick - ymmullick@usfca.edu
  • ASL: Kyoko Suda - sudak@usfca.edu
  • Chinese: Wei Yang Menkus - wyang16@usfca.edu
  • Filipino: Edith Borbon - erborbon@usfca.edu
  • French: Fr. Matthew Motyka - mjmotyka@usfca.edu
  • German: Anne Mairesse - mairesse@usfca.edu, and Susanne Hoelscher - shhoelscher@usfca.edu
  • Hebrew: Esti Skloot - skloot@usfca.edu
  • Italian: Fr. Matthew Motyka - mjmotyka@usfca.edu
  • Japanese: Noriko Nagata - nagatan@usfca.edu
  • Portuguese: Tatiana Dutra e Mello - tdutraemello@usfca.edu
  • Spanish: Raquel Villamil-Acera - rvillamilacera@usfca.edu, and Nadina Olmedo - neolmedo@usfca.edu