Holidays

The University recognizes the following holidays and paid days off each year:

  • New Year's Day
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • President's Day
  • Good Friday
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Day After Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Eve
  • Christmas Day
  • Winter Closure (3 weekdays between Christmas Day and New Year's Eve)
  • New Year's Eve
  • Full-time employees and eligible part-time employees who are regularly scheduled to work at least half a day on a holiday or paid day off will receive pay for the number of hours that they would have normally worked on that day*.
  • Some departments are open when the University is closed. In the event that employees are scheduled to work on a published holiday or paid day off, they will be provided another paid day off within the fiscal year. Employees who are required to work on a holiday may be paid at a rate of time and one-half for all hours worked and should check with their supervisor for details.
  • The University employs faculty and staff from various religious backgrounds. While operating requirements of the departments must be met, reasonable accommodations in arranging work schedules to permit employees to meet commitments of all faiths will be extended, or time off may be charged to vacation.
  • Union employees should refer to their collective bargaining agreement for information about eligibility and pay for holidays and paid days off.

* Employees must be in paid status at least one business day prior to the holiday or paid day off.

USF Holiday Schedule for Staff

Holiday/Paid Day Off 2019 2020
New Year's Day Tuesday, January 1, 2019 Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 21, 2019 Monday, January 20, 2020
President's Day Monday, February 18, 2019 Monday, February 17, 2020
Good Friday Friday, April 19, 2019 Friday, April 10, 2020
Memorial Day Monday, May 27, 2019 Monday, May 25, 2020
Independence Day Thursday, July 4, 2019 Friday, July 3, 2020
Labor Day Monday, September 2, 2019 Monday, September 7, 2020
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 28, 2019 Thursday, November 26, 2020
Day after Thanksgiving Friday, November 29, 2019 Friday, November 27, 2020
Christmas Eve Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Friday, December 25, 2020
Winter closure Thursday, December 26, 2019 Monday, December 28, 2020
Winter closure Friday, December 27, 2019 Tuesday, December 29, 2020
Winter closure Monday, December 30, 2019 Wednesday, December 30, 2020
New Year's Eve Tuesday, December 31, 2019 Thursday, December 31, 2020

Add Holidays to your Google DonsApps Calendar

To add the USF Holiday Calendar to your DonsApps calendar:

  1. Open your DonsApps calendar.
  2. Next to the "Other Calendars" heading in the bottom left corner, left-click the down arrow icon ▼ and select "Add by Url".
  3. Copy and paste the following url into the "Url" field and select "Add Calendar": http://www.google.com/calendar/ical/usfca.edu_gpcf0u4qprljhfiet0s3bsa16k%40group.calendar.google.com/public/basic.ics
  4. You should now see "USF Holiday Calendar" listed under the "Other Calendars" heading on the left. Clicking on the calendar name will toggle the calendar view on/off.