Holidays

The University recognizes the following holidays and paid days off each year:

  • New Year's Day
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • President's Day
  • Good Friday
  • Memorial Day
  • Juneteenth
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Day After Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Eve
  • Christmas Day
  • Winter Closure (3 weekdays between Christmas Day and New Year's Eve)
  • New Year's Eve
  • Full-time employees and eligible part-time employees who are regularly scheduled to work at least half a day on a holiday or paid day off will receive pay for the number of hours that they would have normally worked on that day*.
  • Some departments are open when the University is closed. In the event that employees are scheduled to work on a published holiday or paid day off, they will be provided another paid day off within the fiscal year. Employees who are required to work on a holiday may be paid at a rate of time and one-half for all hours worked and should check with their supervisor for details.
  • The University employs faculty and staff from various religious backgrounds. While operating requirements of the departments must be met, reasonable accommodations in arranging work schedules to permit employees to meet commitments of all faiths will be extended, or time off may be charged to vacation.
  • Union employees should refer to their collective bargaining agreement for information about eligibility and pay for holidays and paid days off.

* Employees must be in paid status at least one business day prior to the holiday or paid day off.

USF Holiday Schedule for Staff

Holiday/Paid Day Off 2022 2023
New Year's Day

Saturday, January 1, 2022

(*Monday, January 3, 2022 will be observed for the New Year's Day Holiday)

Sunday, January 1, 2023

(*Monday, January 2, 2023 will be observed for the New Year's Day Holiday)

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 17, 2022 Monday, January 16, 2023
President's Day Monday, February 21, 2022 Monday, February 20, 2023
Good Friday Friday, April 15, 2022 Friday, April 7, 2023
Memorial Day Monday, May 30, 2022 Monday, May 29, 2023
Juneteenth Monday, June 20 (observed) Monday, June 19, 2023
Independence Day Monday, July 4, 2022 Tuesday, July 4, 2023
Labor Day Monday, September 5, 2022 Monday, September 4, 2023
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24, 2022 Thursday, November 23, 2023
Day after Thanksgiving Friday, November 25, 2022 Friday, November 24, 2023
Christmas Eve Friday, December 23, 2022 (observed) Friday, December 22, 2023 (observed)
Christmas Day Monday, December 26, 2022 (observed) Monday, December 25, 2023
Winter closure Tuesday, December 27, 2022 Tuesday, December 26, 2023
Winter closure Wednesday, December 28, 2022 Wednesday, December 27, 2023
Winter closure Thursday, December 29, 2022 Thursday, December 28, 2023
New Year's Eve

Saturday December 31, 2022

(*Friday, December 30, 2022 is  observed for the New Year's Holiday)

Sunday, December 31, 2023

(*Friday, December 29, 2023 is  observed for the New Year's Holiday)

Add Holidays to your Google DonsApps Calendar

To add the USF Holiday Calendar to your DonsApps calendar:

  1. Open your DonsApps calendar.
  2. Next to the "Other Calendars" heading in the bottom left corner, left-click the down arrow icon ▼ and select "Add by Url".
  3. Copy and paste the following url into the "Url" field and select "Add Calendar": http://www.google.com/calendar/ical/usfca.edu_gpcf0u4qprljhfiet0s3bsa16k%40group.calendar.google.com/public/basic.ics
  4. You should now see "USF Holiday Calendar" listed under the "Other Calendars" heading on the left. Clicking on the calendar name will toggle the calendar view on/off.