University Budget Advisory Council


The purpose of this council will be four-fold:

Education: UBAC members will be expected to educate themselves about the university's operating and capital budgets, as well as the university's business model.

Transparency: UBAC members will have the opportunity to better understand how resources are allocated at the university, as well as how resources are allocated in ways that comport with the university's mission, vision, and values.

Advice: The higher education industry is currently beset by serious structural challenges that are substantially changing the competitive landscape for colleges and universities and are likely to continue in the future. In this tumultuous environment, the president and his cabinet must make tough decisions about tuition and fee increases, enrollment targets, and resource reallocation. UBAC will provide related advice to the president, provost, and cabinet.

Communication: Because approximately one-third of UBAC membership consists of vice presidents and vice provosts who play key roles in the university's operations, UBAC will be a natural venue for communication between administration and various stakeholders. UBAC members will be expected to make regular budget-related reports (or participate in town halls or other communication activities) to educate members of the community about the university's operating and capital budgets and the work of UBAC.

The composition of UBAC will be as follows: five administrators, five faculty members, five staff members, and three students. The faculty members will be appointed for initial terms of staggered length by their respective unions. A single staff slot will be reserved for a member of the OPE (Local 29), and the remaining staff slots will be determined by nomination and election by all university employees. Nominations are limited to staff members who do not serve on the university's leadership team. The three student representatives will be the presidents of the Associated Students of USF (ASUSF) and the Graduate Student Senate (GSS), or their respective designees. The president, provost, and vice president for business and finance will sit on the council in an ex officio capacity, attending meetings as their schedules and interests permit. The five administrator slots are currently allocated to the occupants of certain administrative roles at the university:

 Chief Information Officer and Vice President for Information Technology Services, Opinder Bawa

Academic Dean, School of Management, Otgo Erhemjamts

Associate Vice President for Planning and Budget, Michael Harrington

Vice President for Development, Lindsey McClenahan

Vice President for Student Life, Julie Orio