Moot Court Program

USF's Moot Court Program helps you build the advocacy and leadership skills required of today's legal professionals. 

The program incorporates a range of opportunities to practice hands-on oral advocacy and brief writing skills, while also giving students, alumni, and practitioners a forum for networking and collaboration.

Moot Court
Zief, 011
(415) 422-5118
Email Us

Students first participate in Moot Court through their Legal Research, Writing, and Analysis class where they research and write a complex legal brief. After being coached by our legal writing faculty and a Moot Court student case counsel, the students end the semester with an oral argument in front of visiting judges.

Students who excel in the program join the advanced moot court programs as student leaders in their second year. Some become case counsel and work directly with a member of the legal writing faculty to both develop the problem that the first year students will work on and assist in the classroom. Other students join one of our prestigious and very successful advocacy teams. We send teams to competitions, including the Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition and the Robert Wagner Moot Court Competition.

In their final year, students can join the Moot Court Board.

Moot Court Application Documents

The Moot Court Board

This board oversees the entire program including USF’s internal advocacy competition, the Advocate of the Year Competition, open to all USF students.

Executive Director
Sarah Malik - smalik11@usfca.edu
External Advocacy Director
Rachel Christenson - rschristenson@usfca.edu
Advocacy of the Year Competition Director
Tamara Moresi - tmmoresi@usfca.edu
First Year Moot Court Director
Edgar Zaragosa Guzman - ezaragozaguzman@usfca.edu
Development Directors
Alice Chuang - achuang4@usfca.edu
Jennifer Estevez - jestevez@usfca.edu
Jordan Hameen - jahameen@usfca.edu
Spencer Ladd - scladd@usfca.edu
Michael Tan - mctan@usfca.edu
Gabriella Trapani - gctrapani@usfca.edu

Moot Court Faculty

Professor of Legal Writing
Monalisa Vu
myu@usfca.edu
415-422-2608

Professor of Legal Writing, Director of the Legal Research, Writing & Analysis Program
Edith Ho
hoe@usfca.edu
415-422-6049