Council of Deans


The Council of Deans will

  • engage in academic strategic planning centered around the University‚Äôs mission, vision and values;
  • review and discuss policies and practices related to curricular issues, faculty affairs, and budgetary matters;
  • make recommendations on issues specific to academic and faculty policies and practices; and
  • discuss new academic programs and new academic initiatives.


The Council of Deans will

  • communicate details related to the implementation of University-wide decisions related to academic affairs, curricular issues, and faculty affairs;
  • publish its agendas and summaries in a timely fashion so that University stakeholders are aware of ongoing discussions and decisions taken up by the council; and
  • seek agenda items, advice, and counsel from constituents within line authority.


The Provost's Council members serve at the invitation of the Interim Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs Tyrone Cannon. The current roster includes:

  • Interim Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs: Tyrone Cannon
  • Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs: Shirley McGuire
  • Vice Provost for Institutional Budget, Planning, and Analytics: Jeff Hamrick
  • Interim Vice Provost & Special Assistant to the Provost: Pamela Balls Organista
  • Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences: Marcelo Camperi
  • Dean of the School of Education: Shabnam Koirala-Azad
  • Dean of the School of Law: Susan Freiwald
  • Dean of the School of Management: Charles T. Moses
  • Dean of the School of Nursing and Health Professions: Margaret W. Baker
  • Acting Dean of the University Library: Shawn Calhoun

Agendas & Summaries