Health and Safety Committee

The University's Injury and Illness Prevention Program (IIPP) is designed to prevent injuries and accidents in the workplace and to ensure the health and safety of staff, faculty, and students. The law states that all California employers must have an Injury and Illness Prevention Program. Members of the Health and Safety committee share the responsibility of implementing and monitoring the University’s health and safety program.


  • Promote a safe and healthful workplace via employee involvement throughout the campus community.
  • Facilitate prompt correction of identified hazards from inspections or accident reviews.
  • Facilitate review of University Health and Safety Programs and ensure recommendations are addressed by University management.
  • Control losses.


  • The committee meets once per month throughout the academic year (September - May).* 
  • Perform quality control checks of Scheduled Periodic Inspections. 
  • Review and analyze recurrent accidents or incidents which involve serious injuries or illness. 
  • Provide recommendations to departments on health and safety issues.
  • Serve as a conduit for communication between staff and faculty members and the University, investigating health and safety suggestions and any allegations of hazardous conditions. 
List of Program Officers including position, title, and contact information.
Position name title contact info
Program Administrator Charlie Cross V.P. Business and Finance

Tel: (415) 422-6522

Health & Safety Committee Co-Chair Melissa Diaz Director of Risk Management

Tel: (415) 422-5899

Health & Safety Committee Co-Chair Joseph E. Murphy Environmental Health and Safety Manager

Tel: (415) 422-5884

List of the Committee Roster
Name Title
Melissa Diaz Director of Risk Management
Diane Sweeney Director of Benefits, HR
Joe Murphy Environmental Health and Safety Manager
Deidre Smith Associate Director SHaRE
Shanie Chambers Director, Koret Health and Recreation Center
Mark Papadopoulos Associate Athletic Director
Dan Lawson Senior Director, Public Safety
Natalie Macias Director, Health Promotion Services
Ken Banks AJ Gallagher, Insurance Broker
Heather Hickman-Holland Director of Operations, Facilities
Martha Peugh-Wade  AVP, Compliance
Esther Sprague Sr. Director for Administration and Finance
Gregory Yee Director of Campus Resilience
Kathleen Rusk Program Manager, COVID-19 & Public Health
Jennifer Hogan Manager of Campus Services/Operations, Facilities 
Craig Conforti Lab Safety Manager- Arts & Sciences
Steven Bosso ITS Analyst Lead (Representing the Staff Council's Institutional Effectiveness & Safety (IES) subcommittee)
Aja Holmes Assistant Dean of Students & Director of Community Living


For safety programs and training, please see Environmental Health and Safety Programs.

*Meeting minutes are available upon request and approval from Health & Safety Committee Chair.