The Provost's Council


The Provost's Council will

  • engage in strategic and financial planning to provide students with an excellent academic experience and high quality student services that are consistent with USF’s Mission, Vision and Values;
  • discuss and make recommendations on University-wide issues and strategies;
  • inform the Provost and other members of the Provost’s Council about academic and student issues and unit-specific decisions that have University-wide implications;
  • make recommendations on issues specific to academic and student policy and practice;
  • discuss new programs and initiatives; and
  • share annual plans for each unit.
  • Communication

    The Provost's Council will

  • oversee the implementation of university-wide decisions related to academic affairs, student academic and enrollment services, and all areas of student development;
  • communicate these decisions fully with the campus community;
  • seek agenda items, advice, and counsel from constituents within line authority.
  • Membership

    Provost's Council members serve at the invitation of Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Donald E. Heller. The current roster includes:

  • Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs: Donald E. Heller
  • Senior Vice Provost of Academic Affairs: Shirley McGuire
  • Vice Provost for Strategic Enrollment Management: Michael Beseda
  • Vice Provost for Diversity Engagement and Community Outreach: Mary Wardell-Ghirarduzzi
  • Vice Provost for Institutional Budget, Planning, and Analytics: Jeff Hamrick
  • Vice Provost of Student Life: Julie Orio
  • Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences: Marcelo Camperi
  • Dean of the School of Education: Shabnam Koirala-Azad
  • Interim Dean of the School of Law: Susan Freiwald
  • Dean of Gleeson Library/Geschke Learning Center: Tyrone Cannon
  • Dean of the School of Management: Elizabeth Davis
  • Dean of the School of Nursing and Health Professions: Margaret W. Baker
  • Associate Vice Provost: Michael Harrington
  • Associate Vice Provost/University Historian: Alan Ziajka
  • Director of University Ministry: Julia Dowd
  • Dean of Students: Shannon Gary
  • Associate Vice Provost and Dean of Academic Student Services: Shona Milazo
  • Senior Director of Leo T McCarthy Center: David Donahue