Adobe Creative Cloud

content last updated 8-21-2019

SIGNING INTO THE SOFTWARE

To use Adobe Creative Cloud applications, you must sign in when prompted with your own (free) Adobe.com account, also known as an "Adobe ID". If you don’t already have an Adobe ID, you'll need to create one before you can use Adobe Creative Cloud applications.

Once signed into Adobe Creative Cloud, the software will prompt you to confirm your identity every 90 minutes.

For users with Full Lab Access, your Adobe ID will be remembered the next time you log into the same computer as long as you log back into it within 21 days.

Create or update your Adobe ID

AVOID OPENING ADOBE CC FILES
DIRECTLY FROM YOUR XARTS NETWORK DRIVE

(for students with full lab access)

Your XARTS Network Drive is on a remote file server, i.e. you access it "over the network". Officially, Adobe says you should not work with files over the network and doing so can result in, at best, erratic application behavior, or at worst, file corruption or data loss. Unofficially, your mileage may vary, and depending on the file and/or the application, you might meet with success. But since Adobe says it's unpredictable and unsupported, we recommend that you avoid it -- or at the very least, be aware of it.

Workaround 1: Store and work with your Adobe files on a personal, high-speed storage device.

Workaround 2: If you need to work with an Adobe file that's stored on your XARTS Network Drive, copy the file down to the lab computer (to your Desktop, for example), work with that duplicate, and then copy it back to your XARTS Network Drive when you're finished.

LEARN ABOUT YOUR XARTS NETWORK DRIVE